Rooting the Old Kindle Fire 6.3.1


My wife has the Kindle Fire that came out last X-mas, and last night I ran across a great article on how easy it is to root the original Kindle Fire.  I rooted my HTC EVO 4g last year (took about 8 hours, but works great, on my third ROM now), and I rooted my Acer A500 tablet last week, in about 15 minutes, so I thought the Kindle Fire would be a cinch.

I was successful with the Kindle Fire, but did manage to get stuck in a couple boot loops, and for about 10 minutes thought I bricked the thing. I did learn a few things though, and thought my experiences may help others avoid a few pitfall.

I started at liliputing using the awesome guide they have.

I got the Kindle Fire Utility. I ran the “install_drivers.bat,” but still had issues with the drivers not showing up. Luckily the guide walked through what to do in this case in step 2, and it did the trick.

Here is where I can add some wisdom. My wife and I wanted to install a custom JellyBean ROM. If you want to install a custom ROM, before you do anything else, download the ROM zip and put it in your Kindle’s root directory, (don’t extract it, keep it zipped.) You will most likely need Google apps, or gapps if you are going the custom ROM route. Make sure you download that as well and put it in your Kinlde’s root directory with the custom ROM.

Backup

Ok, so I will assume you have followed the liliputing guide, your got full root and a custom recovery installed on your kindle. You already have your custom ROM and Gapps on the Kindle. So you reboot into recovery. FIRST THING YOU DO IN RECOVERY IS MAKE A FULL BACKUP!!! THIS CAN SAVE YOUR ASS!

Tap on “Backup.” I backed up System, Data, Boot, and .android_secure. The first three were already checked. Not sure how important .android_secure is, but it just felt important so I checked it, and it did save me later. Hopefully you won’t need it, but for the love of God, make a backup.

It takes a few minutes for the backup to finish.

Wipe

Next step is to click on Wipe and wipe the following:

  • Factory Reset,
  • System,
  • Dalvik Cache

as this helpful article also from lilputing  instructed.

Whatever you do, DO NOT REBOOT YET!!!!!

Install, or Flash Custom ROM then Gapps before you Reboot!

Another important thing, one that screwed me up for a while, is if you use a custom ROM that requires that you flash Gapps after the ROM, make sure you download that too, and put in the Kindle’s root directory with the custom ROM. The important thing here is after you flash the custom ROM,  DON’T FORGET TO FLASH GAPPS BEFORE YOU REBOOT!!!!

So you click back to get to the main recovery screen. Click Install, and the next screen should have your custom ROM and gapps to the right under “/sdcard”

Click on the custom ROM first.

then when that is done click on gapps.

Once they are both installed, you can reboot.

Viola, you have a new tablet, enjoy!

I used the Kindle Fire Utility to get full root and install the TWRP recovery.

Thanks to everyone at XDA and liliputing for all the info and work.

I ended up installing AOSP JELLY BEAN 4.1.2_r1 straight from Google sources, and love it, thanks Hashcode!

Leave a Reply

